• FMWF Chamber Annual meeting
  • Annual Meeting


    Stay tuned for details regarding our 2020 Legacy Leader and 10th Annual Meeting!


  • Each year, The Chamber’s Annual Meeting is an opportunity to highlight successes of the past year, recognize and thank our countless volunteers, and outline our priorities for the coming year. It’s a time to reflect, celebrate, laugh and network with industry peers and Chamber volunteers as we also make time to honor our Legacy Leader.

    The annual Legacy Leader Award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the community.



    We're thrilled to announce Gate City Bank’s Executive Chair and Chair of the Board, Steve Swiontek, our 2019 Legacy Leader Award. This prestigious award recognizes and emphasizes the important role and contributions of long-time local leaders in both shaping and serving The Chamber, metropolitan community and region.

    Swiontek was selected by a nomination committee based on his involvement in North Dakota’s business climate. A member of The Chamber’s Board of Directors since 2014, Swiontek also served as chair from 2017-18.

    A native of North Dakota, Swiontek grew up in Edgeley, and later graduated from North Dakota State University with a bachelor’s degree in economics and military science. While there, he held the title of Student Body President and served as a member of the North Dakota House of Representatives for eight years.

    Swiontek started his Gate City Bank career as a management trainee, his first job out of college in 1978. He went on to hold various positions at the Bank, including personnel manager, branch coordinator and director of administration. From 2001 to 2019, he served as chair, president and CEO. Currently, Steve serves as Executive Chair at Gate City Bank. He oversees the Bank’s strategic investments in philanthropic giving, and provides a strong voice to the many programs that touch the lives of the communities the Bank serves. In addition, he Chairs Gate City Bank’s Board of Directors. The Bank, which was founded in 1923, had 24 locations in 2001. Under Swiontek’s leadership, it has expanded to $2.3 billion in assets with 38 locations across 19 communities in North Dakota and west central Minnesota, and over 700 team members.

    Swiontek shares his industry knowledge with various banking organizations and has been actively involved with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Independent Community Bankers of America, North Dakota Bankers Association and Officer of the Comptroller of the Currency.  

    Throughout his career, Swiontek has had many notable achievements and is the recipient of many awards including the NDSU Development Foundation Service Award, ND Chamber of Commerce Community Leadership Award and Prairie Business Leaders & Legacies award, among others.

    Business and career achievements aside, Swiontek continues to remain active in a variety of community organizations as part of his personal commitment to make a difference and provide a better way of life. Together, Swiontek and his wife, Mary Anne, co-chair the NDSU Capital Campaign. He also serves on the Board of Trustees for the NDSU Foundation and served as chair of the Executive Governing Board from 2015 to 2018. Additionally, Swiontek is a member of the City of Fargo Renaissance Zone Authority, a member of the Board of Directors at Noridian Healthcare Solutions and an active member of Hope Lutheran Church in Fargo.

  • Past Legacy Leader Winners

    • 2007 Legacy Leader William C. Marcil, Sr.
    • 2008 Legacy Leader Frederick B. Scheel
    • 2008 Legacy Leader Edward Stern
    • 2009 Legacy Leader Dr. Roland Dille
    • 2009 Legacy Leader James R. McLaughlin
    • 2010 Legacy Leader John Q. Paulsen
    • 2011 Legacy Leader Ronald D. Offutt
    • 2012 Legacy Leader Bruce Furness
    • 2013 Legacy Leader Margie Bailly
    • 2014 Legacy Leaders Alexander Macdonald & Darrol Schroeder
    • 2015 Legacy Leader Morrie Lanning
    • 2016 Legacy Leader Roger Gilbertson
    • 2017 Legacy Leader Bernie Dardis
    • 2018 Legacy Leader Judy Lee
  • Chamber Year in Review 2018-19
  • Check out these highlights from previous events:

    For information on sponsoring the Annual Meeting or hosting a table, contact Darren at ddunlop@fmwfchamber.com or 218.359.0514.

  • Presenting Sponsor


    Midco logo

  • Chairman Sponsor


    Sanford Health logo

  • Legacy Sponsors


    Bell Bank logoBCBSND logoBremer Bank logo

    Eide Bailly logoEssentia logoEventide Senior Living Communities logoForum Printing logo 

      NDSU logo