• FMWF Chamber Annual meeting
  • Annual Celebration


    Join us for the 2021 Annual Celebration and Legacy Leader presentation

    Tuesday, October 12 | Noon to 1:30 p.m. | Delta by Marriott

  • Each year, The Chamber’s Annual Celebration is an opportunity to highlight successes of the past year, recognize and thank our countless volunteers, and outline our priorities for the coming year. It’s a time to reflect, celebrate, laugh and network with industry peers and Chamber volunteers as we also make time to honor our Legacy Leader.

    As our communities continue to grow and evolve, so does The Chamber. Join us for an exciting afternoon where we will announce The Chamber's five cornerstones with an emphasis on a disruptive mindset; courageous will and dynamic leadership; and strategic partnership and critical collaboration. We will also be unveiling a major initiative at this event that will position our region at the forefront of workforce and talent development.

    2021 Legacy Leader: Mark Nisbet


    The annual Legacy Leader Award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the community.

  • About Mark Nisbet About Mark Nisbet

    We’re thrilled to announce Mark Nisbet as the recipient of the 2021 Legacy Leader Award! Nisbet was selected by a nomination committee based on his leadership in business and in the community.

    Mark was born in Grand Forks and grew up on the family farmstead. He attended high school in Fisher, Minnesota, and truly enjoyed a wonderful childhood filled with small-town memories. Mark went on to attend college at Moorhead State, now known as MSUM, where he played freshman football and two years of college baseball. While focusing on his business degree, he took advantage of the tri-college system and also enjoyed classes at NDSU.

    Towards the end of his college career, Mark was ready to start his own business in the concrete and construction industry. This business introduced him to numerous opportunities in the industry, as well as in various business settings. This led to Mark landing a role at Xcel Energy. Starting out in the customer business office in the company, he transitioned four times before ultimately earning the role of North Dakota Principal Manager, which is the role he retired from in January 2021 after 40 years with the company.

    Mark has always been passionate about getting involved in his community. He has been highly involved with both local and state organizations including United Way, Boy Scouts, YMCA Family Center, Grand Forks Lions Club, Minot Area Development Corporation, Downtown Community Partnership, Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC, Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber, State Chamber of Commerce Board, EmPower Energy Commission and ND Renweable Energy Council. Mark is passionate about higher education and workforce development, and considers serving on the Tri-College Board of Directors and representing the North Dakota Economic Development Foundation as the Chair of the Governor Hoeven’s Centers of Excellence program to be highlights in his career.

    A true family man, Mark has been married to his wife Sandy for 43 years, and has three grown sons, Jason, Matt and Alex. He has been enjoying his retirement by getting back to the golf course, fishing, flying drones with his son and spending time with family and friends. He is looking forward to getting involved in the community, and is especially interested in volunteering his time in the areas of workforce development, unmanned aerial systems and flood protection.

    Join us at our Annual Celebration in October to learn more about Mark and honor him with the award.

  • Past Legacy Leader Winners

    • 2020 Legacy Leader Steve D. Scheel
    • 2019 Legacy Leader Steve Swiontek
    • 2018 Legacy Leader Judy Lee
    • 2017 Legacy Leader Bernie Dardis
    • 2016 Legacy Leader Roger Gilbertson
    • 2015 Legacy Leader Morrie Lanning
    • 2014 Legacy Leaders Alexander Macdonald & Darrol Schroeder
    • 2013 Legacy Leader Margie Bailly
    • 2012 Legacy Leader Bruce Furness
    • 2011 Legacy Leader Ronald D. Offutt
    • 2010 Legacy Leader John Q. Paulsen
    • 2009 Legacy Leader James R. McLaughlin
    • 2009 Legacy Leader Dr. Roland Dille
    • 2008 Legacy Leader Edward Stern
    • 2008 Legacy Leader Frederick B. Scheel
    • 2007 Legacy Leader William C. Marcil, Sr.
  • 2020 Steve D. Scheel

  • 2018 Judy Lee

  • 2016 Roger Gilbertson
  • 2019 Steve Swiontek

  • 2017 Bernie Dardis

  • 2015 Morrie Lanning
  • Presenting Sponsor