• The Chamber and DCP to host Fargo Candidate Forums

  • The Chamber and DCP to host Fargo Candidate Forums
    Moorhead, Minn. (February 16, 2022) – The Chamber, in partnership with the Downtown Community Partnership (DCP), will be hosting a Fargo Mayoral Candidate Forum on Monday, April 25, and a Fargo City Commission Candidate Forum on Wednesday, May 4. These forums will serve as an opportunity for community members to hear directly from the 2022 mayoral and city commission candidates.
    “As voters prepare for the June 2022 Fargo election, it is important to keep our community informed and active in the election process,” remarked Chamber VP of Public Policy Katherine Grindberg. “These forums, in conjunction with several other events and resources, are part of The Chamber’s election efforts. The Chamber doesn’t endorse candidates, rather provides educational opportunities such as this for the community to be informed voters.”
    “Local elections truly have the power to shape our community in the years to come. The Downtown Community Partnership is proud of our partnership with The Chamber to provide an opportunity for voters to learn about candidates, their positions, and the possibilities they see for downtown, and our city as a whole,” said DCP Executive Director Cindy Graffeo.
    All candidates will be invited to participate in the forums for the opportunity to discuss their views on topics imperative to the business community such as permanent flood protection, economic development, housing, city growth and how they will lead Fargo and ensure a prosperous future. These forums will be hosted at Fargo City Hall from 4 to 5:30 p.m. and will be open to the public at no cost. Visit The Chamber’s website for more information and to register at no cost.
    Announced Fargo mayoral candidates:

    • Michael Borgie
    • Hukun Dabar, Founder, Afro American Development Association
    • Dustin Elliot, Local Banker
    • Sheri Fercho, Vice President, Fargo-Moorhead Heritage Society
    • Tim Mahoney, current Fargo Mayor | Physician
    • Arlette Preston, current Fargo City Commissioner
    • Shannon Roers Jones, North Dakota Legislator | Attorney | Real Estate Agent
    Announced Fargo City Commission candidates:
    • Matuor Alier, Fargo Human Rights Commission Chairman | Director of Equity and Inclusion, Moorhead Area Public Schools
    • Jennifer Benson, Business Specialist, Janssen Pharmaceuticals | Fargo School Board Member
    • Al Carlson, former North Dakota House Majority Leader
    • Philip Deery
    • Anna Johnson, Program Coordinator, Indigenous Association | Truck Driver, Aggregate Industries | Artist
    • Victoria Johnson, Founder, Families United for Self-Empowerment
    • Denise Kolpack, retired, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota
    • Branden Krieger, Fargo Teacher
    • T.G. Tom Magin, retired, Investigator for U.S. Department of Labor | former Deputy Sheriff
    • Ves Marinov, North Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper
    • Dave Piepkorn, current Fargo City Commissioner and Deputy Mayor
    • Jodi Plecity, Entrepreneur
    • Ahmed Shiil, Fargo's Human Rights Commission member | Local Nonprofit Employee
    • Will Thompson, Boulger Funeral Home Employee| Midwest Communications Employee
    • Lenny Tweeden, former candidate for mayor and city commission
    All members of the community and media are invited to attend these events.

    Fargo Mayoral Forum event page
    Fargo City Commission Forum event page

  • Are you a Chamber member?

    If you work for a business that has invested in a Chamber membership, that means you as an individual are also a member. Not sure if your employer is a member? Search your company name in our Business Directory to find out! Here are your member login instructions.

  • POC

  • YPN