• Chamber Names Judy Lee 2018 Legacy Leader; Announces Annual Meeting

  • Moorhead, Minn. (August 7, 2018) – The Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber has named Senator Judy Lee the recipient of the 2018 Legacy Leader Award. This prestigious award recognizes and emphasizes the important role and contributions of long-time local leaders in both shaping and serving The Chamber, metropolitan community and region.

    Lee was selected by a nomination committee based on her involvement in North Dakota’s public policy and commitment to serving her district in West Fargo. Lee has also served several terms on The Chamber’s board of directors and has been an active participant on various Chamber committees.

    Lee was first elected to the ND Senate, representing District 13 in West Fargo, in 1994. She has served on the Senate Human Services committee since the 1995 session and has been chair since 2001. She has also been a member of the Political Subdivisions and Government & Veterans Affairs committees. She was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate in 2007. Prior to being elected Senator, she served 12 years on the West Fargo Planning and Zoning Commission.

    Senator Lee has been a member of the National Conference of State Legislatures Human Services committee for several years, including serving as chair. She is also involved in other national and local organizations and groups that focus on human services and health care, including Opioid Fellows and Reforming States Group.

    She has been the recipient of numerous awards and recognition from the ND Bar Association, Medical Association, Long Term Care Association, Nurse Practitioners, Dakota Medical Foundation, Mental Health America and ND Council of Educational Leaders, among others. The West Fargo Exchange Club named her the winner of their Book of Golden Deeds, and she was recently recognized as the fourth most effective legislator in the U.S.

    Lee grew up in Grafton, North Dakota, and is a graduate of the University of North Dakota with a degree in medical technology. After 10 years of work in hospital and clinic labs, she began a 34-year career in real estate and has continued to be very active on community boards and committees.

    “The Legacy Leader award is The Chamber’s highest award throughout the year, and perhaps the highest in the community,” Craig Whitney, president and CEO of the Chamber said. “Senator Lee is a tireless and relentless advocate for her city, her district, the metro and the entire state of North Dakota. She is a champion of health and human services over her entire legislative career. It is an honor to present her this award this year.”

    Lee will be honored at The Chamber’s Eighth Annual Meeting on Wednesday, September 19, from noon to 1:30 p.m. at the Holiday Inn Fargo. Presented by Midco, the Annual Meeting will also serve as a reflection and celebration of The Chamber’s accomplishments of the past fiscal year, offer a look at priorities for the next year and honor our outstanding volunteers.

    To register to attend the Annual Meeting, visit fmwfchamber.com or call 218.233.1100. All media is invited to attend.

    About The Chamber
    The Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce is a bi-state, regional federation of more than 2,100 private, public and non-profit member firms representing more than 109,000 people. The largest local chamber in North Dakota and Minnesota, The Chamber advocates for a strong metropolitan community and supports the interests of its members, which are located in Cass and Clay Counties and beyond.

  • Are you a member?

    If you work for a business that has invested in a Chamber membership, YOU are also a member and can register with special pricing for Chamber events! Not sure if your employer is a member? Search your company name in our Business Directory to find out! Here are your member login instructions.

  • POC

  • YPN